

Contact: Jed Thorp, jthorp@cleanwater.org, (401) 345-2659

Clean Water Action Announces Second Round of 2022 Endorsements

PROVIDENCE – Clean Water Action announced a second round of endorsements for the 2022 election cycle. All of these pro-environment candidates support Clean Water Action's priorities including protecting residents from toxic chemicals, fighting plastic waste, and transitioning to a renewable energy future.

"We are extremely pleased that so many qualified candidates completed our endorsement questionnaire, and committed to lead on a range of important environmental issues," stated Jed Thorp, Clean Water Action's Rhode Island State Director. "We're going to do all that we can in the coming weeks to help each of these candidates elected, and look forward to working with them as legislators next year."

Clean Water Action made an initial round of endorsements of previously-endorsed incumbents earlier this month, and recently endorsed Nellie Gorbea for Governor. The following is a complete list of Clean Water Action's endorsements to date:

*Indicates previously announced endorsement

For Congress in District 1: *David Cicilline

For Governor: *Nellie Gorbea

For the Rhode Island Senate:

*Sam Zurier – District 3 Sam Bell – District 5 *Tiara Mack – District 6 Sandra Cano – District 8 *Dawn Euer – District 13 Valarie Lawson – District 14 *Megan Kallman – District 15 Jonathan Acosta – District 16 Greg Greco – District 18 Melanie DuPont – District 22 Melissa Murray – District 24 Christopher Maselli – District 25 Eric Asselin – District 26 Josh Miller – District 28 Jennifer Rourke – District 29 *Jeanine Calkin – District 30 Pam Lauria – District 32 Jennifer Douglas – District 34 *Bridget Valverde – District 35 *Alana DiMario – District 36 Victoria Gu – District 38

For the Rhode Island House of Representatives:

*Edith Ajello – District 1 *Chris Blazejewski – District 2 *Rebecca Kislak – District 4 *David Morales – District 7 John Lombardi – District 8 Jose Batista – District 12 Giona Picheco – District 14 Brandon Potter – District 16 Art Handy – District 18 Joe McNamara – District 19 *David Bennett – District 20 Capri Catanzaro – District 21 Joe Solomon – District 22 Joe Shekarchi – District 23 Evan Shanley – District 24 Scott Guthrie – District 28 Justine Caldwell – District 30 Melissa Devine – District 31 Robert Craven – District 32 *Carol Hagan McEntee - District 33 *Teresa Tanzi – District 34

Kathleen Fogarty – District 35 Tina Spears – District 36 Megan Cottter – District 39 Kelsey Coletta – District 42 Paul Roselli – District 47 Clara Hardy – District 55 Brandon Voas – District 57 Cherie Cruz – District 58 Jean Phillipe Barros – District 59 Karen Alzate – District 60 Brianna Henries – District 62 *Katherine Kazarian – District 63 Matthew Dawson – District 65 Jennifer Boylan – District 66 *Jason Knight – District 67 *June Speakman – District 68 *Susan Donovan - District 69 *Michelle McGaw – District 71 *Terri Cortvriend – District 72 *Lauren Carson – District 75 John Edwards - District 70

*Indicates previously announced endorsement

###

Since our founding during the campaign to pass the landmark Clean Water Act in 1972, Clean Water Action has worked to win strong health and environmental protections by bringing issue expertise, solution-oriented thinking and people power to the table.